The guqin is to be the subject of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) “Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity” for 2003. In conjunction with UNESCO’s focus on the guqin, the North American Guqin Association (NAGA) and people.com.cn (one of the largest Chinese news sites which is run by the People's Daily,the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China ) will hold a special online guqin concert on Tuesday, July 9 at 10:00am Beijing Time (July 8 7:00pm Pacific Daylight Time, 10:00pm Eastern Daylight Time, July 9 3:00am British Summer Time) which will be broadcast worldwide. This will be the first live online guqin concert in history.

Wang Fei, director of the North American Guqin Association, has flown from California to Beijing and is personally organizing and playing in this concert, which will feature:

  • Guqin masters Li Xiangting, Xu Jian, Zheng Mingzhong, Chen Changlin and Wu Zhao. 
  • Xiao and dizi master Wang Tiechui.
  • First class singer Jiang Jiaqiang.
  • Beijing guqin player Wang Wei, American guqin player Jim Binkley and English guqin player Christopher Evans.

  • Time: 10:00-10:50 Beijing time, 19:00-19:50 PDT , 22:00-22:50 EDT, 03:00-03:50 BST Live Concert (Click on the Live Concert button

    10:30-11:10 Beijing time, 19:30-20:10 PDT , 22:30-23:10 EDT, 03:30-04:10 BST Live Discussion (text, Click on the Forum button)

    11:10-11:40 Beijing time, 20:10-20:40 PDT , 23:10-23:40 EDT, 04:10-04:40 BST Live Voice Discussion (voice, text, Click on the Forum button)

    You can log into the event by visiting http://www.people.com.cn/guqin/, and see the program, musicians's biographies and notes on the pieces to be played. Click on the Live Concert Button to watch and listen to the guqin concert and post your questions to the guests by clicking on the Forum Button. There will be a live discussion during and after the concert. The masters and guests will answer your questions in real time. All information pertaining to the events will be archived and will remain at this URL. 

    You need to download RealPlayer to watch and listen to the concert. RealPlayer 8 basic is free to download at http://www.real.com 


    人民网 北美琴社